Medline (OvidSP) Covers all fields of medicine. Includes over 18 million articles in 5500 journals from 1948 onwards. Medline is the largest component of PubMed, and is recommended for most areas. Uses OvidSP software and retrieves similar results to PubMed. More >>
PubMed
Provides free access to MEDLINE. Includes over 21 million articles covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also contains OldMedline citations. More >>
UpToDate [ADHB Intranet access only]
Comprehensive expert opinion and evidence-based clinical information. Provides point-of-care answers to clinical questions. Topic reviews written by physicians provide access to current information within a specialty. No off-site access due to licence restrictions.
Best Practice High quality, evidence-based point-of-care tool covering 10,000 diagnoses. Produced by BMJ Publishing and currently available as a free trial. More >>
CINAHL Plus Covers literature related to nursing and allied health. CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health) uses the EBSCOhost software.
Clinical Evidence Best available evidence from systematic reviews, RCTs, and observational studies on the prevention and treatment of clinical conditions seen in primary and hospital care. Each new issue includes new topics and updates existing topics.
Cochrane Library Free version of the Cochrane Library using the Wiley software.
Includes: the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL/CCTR); Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA); and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED).
Google Scholar A search engine for scholarly literature. Results are ranked by various criteria including how often the work has been cited in other scholarly works. This means there is a bias towards older, heavily-cited works rather than the latest publications.
Health and Medical Complete Covers all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including administration, medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others. Includes over 1,900 publications with over 1,575 available in full text. More >>
Evidence Based Practice
ACP Journal Club Search the two journals ACP Journal Club and Evidence-Based Medicine. Access is from 1991 onwards using the OvidSP software.
Best Bets Free collection of Best Evidence Topic (BET) reports written for, and reviewed by doctors. Reports summarise available evidence mainly in emergency medicine, but also in cardiothoracics, nursing, primary care and paediatrics. Select ‘Databases’, then ‘Browse BETS’ to search by keywords.
Best Practice
BMJ’s evidence based point of care tool. Free trial only.
Clinical Evidence Best evidence on the prevention and treatment of clinical conditions seen in primary and hospital care.
Cochrane Library
Free version of the Cochrane Library using the Wiley software.
Includes: the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL/CCTR); Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA); and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
Full text of complete systematic reviews prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration; and details of protocols (not-yet-completed systematic reviews).
National electronic Library for Medicines (NeLM) The largest medicines information portal for healthcare professionals in the UK National Health Service (NHS). Promotes the safe and effective use of medicines. Includes news, evidence-based reviews on drugs, drug therapy and health promotion.
NHS Evidence Evidence based information for the UK NHS, public health, and social care sectors. NHS Evidence is managed by the National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) in the UK.
TRIP A clinical search tool to allow rapid identification of the highest quality evidence for clinical practice.
E-books
Books at Ovid e-Books covering a wide range of medical topics. Includes over 80 of the latest editions of many well-known texts. Uses OvidSP software.
Harrison's Online The world's leading textbook of medicine, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. Regularly updated online. If required, the username and password is for access via the ADHB intranet only.
Health and Medical Complete Covers all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including health administration. Over 1,900 publications with over 1,500 available in full text.
Legislation
LegislationNZ A browsable collection of New Zealand Acts.
Nursing & Allied Health
CINAHL Plus Covers nursing and allied health. CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health) uses the EBSCOhost software.
OTCATS Access the full text of critically appraised topics (or CATs) relating to Occupational Therapy.
OTseeker Free Australian database containing abstracts and quality ratings of randomized controlled trials and abstracts of systematic reviews relevant to occupational therapy. Coverage is not yet comprehensive.
PEDro Evidence based resource for physiotherapists containing abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence based clinical practice guidelines. Coverage is not yet comprehensive.
PsycBITE Includes studies and ratings of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological issues resulting from acquired brain impairment.
Social Care Online
Updated daily, Social Care Online includes abstracts and some full text of social care literature.
speechBITE Free access to evidence based information on interventions and treatment in Speech Pathology. A joint initiative of the University of Sydney and Speech Pathology Australia.
REHABDATA Covers physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. Covers 1956 to the present. Produced by the US National Rehabilitation Information Center.
Weight Management FAB (NZ)
Research and evaluation on nutrition, physical activity, obesity, exercise science, physical recreation and sport, from 2000 onwards.
Patient Information (all freely available)
BestHealth
Evidence based patient information for 180 conditions. Produced by BMJ Publishing, free access is provided to New Zealand by the Ministry of Health. More >>
Everybody (NZ)
Accurate information for New Zealanders, written and reviewed by experts. Extensive topic coverage, health calculators, news, nutrition and health research. More >>
Genetics Home Reference Information about the effects of genetic variation on human health. From the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
NHS Choices: Health A-Z
Patient information for a range of common conditions and treatments. From the NHS in the UK.
Health Education (NZ)
Free public health resources from the Ministry of Health.
Health Topics A-Z (NZ)
Ministry of Health topics on health policy, conditions and diseases, and sector information.
Healthpoint (NZ)
Up-to-date information about providers, referral expectations, services offered and common treatments. More >>
Kidshealth (NZ)
Provides parents with patient information about their child's health. Kidshealth is a joint initiative between Starship Foundation and the Paediatric Society of New Zealand.
MedlinePlus Information developed using authoritative information from U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), the US National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organisations. More >>
Patient UK Information on health and diseases, including videos and personal stories. Regularly updated.
UpToDate: Patient information Freely available articles for patients and their families based on the the main UpToDate product.
Point of Care
Best Practice
BMJ’s evidence based point of care tool. Free trial only.
Clinical Evidence Best evidence on the prevention and treatment of clinical conditions seen in primary and hospital care.
TRIP A clinical search tool to allow rapid identification of the highest quality evidence for clinical practice.
UpToDate [ADHB Intranet access only]
Point-of-care answers to clinical questions. Topic reviews written by physicians provide access to current information within a specialty. No off-site access due to licence restrictions.
Psychology & Mental Health
PsycBITE Studies and ratings of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues resulting from acquired brain impairment.
Primary Mental Health (NZ)
Resources about primary mental health and addiction for the workforce, academics and consumers.
Psychiatry Online Search journals, textbooks and handbooks from the American Psychiatric Association.
PsycINFO (OvidSP)
Access over 1 million articles from psychology and the behavioural sciences. Also includes relevant material from the related disciplines of anthropology, linguistics, law, physiology, education, medicine, business, sociology and psychiatry. Produced in the US by the American Psychological Association.