You are here

Databases

Find by title or subject

  • ACP Journal Club
    Reviews and abstracts selected articles covering recent medical advances from two journals, ACP Journal Club and Evidence-Based Medicine.
  • Best Bets
    OPEN ACCESS Best Evidence Topic (BET) reports written for, and reviewed by doctors. Summarises evidence in emergency medicine, cardiothoracics, nursing, primary care and paediatrics. Select ‘Databases’, then ‘Browse BETS’.
  • Clinical Evidence
    Evidence from systematic reviews, RCTs, and observational studies on the prevention and treatment of clinical conditions in primary and hospital care.
  • Cochrane Library
    OPEN ACCESS Evidence-based information on the effectiveness of healthcare interventions, including systematic reviews and controlled trials.
  • Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
    Abstracts of critical assessments of systematic reviews.
  • Evidence Search (NICE)
    OPEN ACCESS Evidence-based information on health and social care for a wide range of conditions. Includes extensive medicines and prescribing information. Produced by the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) in the UK.
  • New Zealand Guideline Group (NZGG)
    OPEN ACCESS Evidence-based publications by the NZGG from 2000-2012. The NZGG went into voluntary liquidation in 2012.
  • PubMed Health
    OPEN ACCESS Based on systematic reviews of clinical trials. Includes summaries for consumers and full technical reports for clinicians.
  • TRIP
    OPEN ACCESS Quickly and easily find high-quality research evidence to support clinical practice and patient care.
  • ClinicalKey
    Contains First Consult for point of care and decision support, as well as full text clinical journals, e-books, practice guidelines, drug information, patient education and leading medical textbooks including specialties in Internal Medicine, Orthopedics, Surgery, Neurology and more. Remote access.
  • CINAHL Plus
    Nursing and Allied Health journal articles and dissertations from 1937 to current.
  • Cochrane Library
    OPEN ACCESS Evidence-based information on the effectiveness of healthcare interventions, including systematic reviews and controlled trials.
  • Google Scholar
    Searches a subset of peer-reviewed journal articles, theses, books, preprints and technical reports. Access the full text of content that ADHB subscribes to from a work computer; or from offsite with a login.
  • Health and Medical Complete
    Indexes articles from leading health and medical journals; includes some full text.
  • Medline (OvidSP)
    Journal articles in all fields of medicine, biomedicine, health sciences and allied health, from 1946 to current.
    What's the Difference Between MEDLINE and PubMed?
  • Nursing Reference Center Plus
    NEW An evidence-based information resource designed for nurses. Includes information about diseases and conditions as well as evidence based care sheets, drug information, videos, images and topics covering nursing management, leadership. Download the App for iOS (iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch) and Android devices.  
  • PsycINFO
    Journal articles, book chapters and book reviews in psychology and the behavioural sciences as well as relevant coverage from medicine, education, anthropology and sociology. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
  • PubMed
    Use Firefox if experiencing issues with PubMed (IE8 is no longer compatible)
    OPEN ACCESS Journal articles in all fields of medicine, biomedicine, health sciences and allied health. Produced by the US National Library of Medicine.
    PubMed Fact Sheet
    Medline/PubMed Resources Guide
    What's the Difference Between MEDLINE and PubMed?  
  • UpToDate
    Read about offsite access and UpToDate User Guide. Evidence-based point of care decision support tool on conditions, diseases and symptoms. Covers prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis.
  • ClinicalKey
    Contains First Consult for point of care and decision support, as well as full text clinical journals, e-books, practice guidelines, drug information, patient education and leading medical textbooks including specialties in Internal Medicine, Orthopedics, Surgery, Neurology and more. Remote access.
  • Clinical Evidence
    Evidence from systematic reviews, RCTs, and observational studies on the prevention and treatment of clinical conditions in primary and hospital care.
  • Nursing Reference Center Plus
    NEW An evidence-based information resource designed for nurses. Includes information about diseases and conditions as well as evidence based care sheets, drug information, videos, images and topics covering nursing management, leadership. Download the App for iOS (iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch) and Android devices.  
  • TRIP
    OPEN ACCESS Quickly and easily find high-quality research evidence to support clinical practice and patient care.
  • UpToDate
    Read about offsite access and UpToDate User Guide. Evidence-based point of care decision support tool on conditions, diseases and symptoms. Covers prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis.
  • ClinicalKey
    Contains First Consult for point of care and decision support, as well as full text clinical journals, e-books, practice guidelines, drug information, patient education and leading medical textbooks including specialties in Internal Medicine, Orthopedics, Surgery, Neurology and more. Remote access.
  • Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis for Therapeutics
  • Red Book Online
    Latest findings and clinical guidelines on more than 200 common childhood conditions, and areas such as immunizations, school health, blood safety, sexually transmitted infections and drug therapy.
  • Rudolph's Pediatrics
  • Books at Ovid
    Full text of a selection of e-books in medicine, nursing and pharmacology. The latest editions of many well-known texts covering a wide range of medical topics.
  • Harrison's Online
    Turns the world's leading textbook of medicine, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, into an updated medical database.
  • PsychiatryOnline
    Journals, textbooks, handbooks and the DSM Library from the American Psychiatric Association.
  • ACTA - Australian Clinical Trials Alliance
    OPEN ACCESS
  • AHRQ - Agency for healthcare research & quality (USA)
    OPEN ACCESS Summaries of research findings and full research reports.
  • ANZCTR - Australia New Zealand Clinical Trials Registry
    OPEN ACCESS
  • BioMed Central
    OPEN ACCESS Open access publisher.
  • Best Bets
    OPEN ACCESS Best Evidence Topic (BET) reports written for, and reviewed by doctors. Summarises evidence in emergency medicine, cardiothoracics, nursing, primary care and paediatrics. Select ‘Databases’, then ‘Browse BETS’.
  • BestHealth
    OPEN ACCESS Evidence based patient treatment options for many conditions, rated according to benefits and side effects. Produced by BMJ Publishing. Free access to New Zealand is provided by the Ministry of Health.
  • BMJ Quality Improvement Reports
    OPEN ACCESS Searchable repository of global quality improvement evidence and best practice.
  • CentreWatch Clinical Trials
    OPEN ACCESS International trials. Includes New Zealand Clinical Trials.
  • Centre for Reviews and Dissemination
    OPEN ACCESS Economic evaluations, technology assessments and systematic reviews.
  • ClinicalTrials.gov
    OPEN ACCESS Federally and privately supported clinical trials in the United States and worldwide.
  • Clinical practice guidelines portal
    OPEN ACCESS For Australian clinicians and policy-makers to access clinical practice guidelines via a single entry point.
  • Clinical trials NZ
    OPEN ACCESS Trials recruiting in NZ. Includes other NZ clinical trials websites.
  • Cochrane Library
    OPEN ACCESS Evidence-based information on the effectiveness of healthcare interventions, including systematic reviews and controlled trials.
  • EU Clinical Trials Register
    OPEN ACCESS
  • Everybody
    OPEN ACCESS Consumer information for New Zealanders written and reviewed by health professionals and owned by MIMS (NZ). Health topics have concise overviews but usually do not include references. Includes motivational tools, health stories, support groups and online forums.
  • Evidence Search (NICE)
    OPEN ACCESS Evidence-based information on health and social care for a wide range of conditions. Includes extensive medicines and prescribing information. Produced by the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) in the UK.
  • Genetics Home Reference
    OPEN ACCESS National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes related to those conditions.
  • Grey Literature Report
    OPEN ACCESS New York Academy of Medicine’s grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics.
  • Grey Matter newsletter
    OPEN ACCESS A selection of recent NGO, Think Tank, and International Government reports from the NZ Ministry of Health Library.
  • Health Ed
    OPEN ACCESS Public health resources from the Health Promotion Agency and NZ Ministry of Health.
  • Health Improvement and Innovation Resource Centre (HIIRC)
    OPEN ACCESS Provides healthcare managers and clinical staff with resources and tools to support NZ healthcare innovation and quality improvement.
  • Health Navigator
    OPEN ACCESS Trusted health and self-help information for all New Zealanders developed by health professionals and volunteers.
  • Health Navigator NZ: Clinical Guidelines, Care Pathways & Assessment Tools
    OPEN ACCESS Guidelines and best practice resources collated from reputable organisations.
  • Healthpoint
    OPEN ACCESS Current information about New Zealand healthcare providers, referral expectations, services offered and common treatments.
  • ISRCTN Register
    OPEN ACCESS Clinical trial registry recognised by WHO and ICMJE. Provides a unique identification number necessary for publication for randomized controlled trials worldwide.
  • Kidshealth
    OPEN ACCESS Reliable information about children's health for New Zealand parents and caregivers. A joint initiative of Starship Foundation and the Paediatric Society of New Zealand.
  • LegislationNZ
    OPEN ACCESS A browsable collection of New Zealand Acts.
  • Map of Medicine Healthguides
    OPEN ACCESS Shows the ideal, evidence-based patient journey for common and important conditions. Provides a high-level overview that can be shared by patients and healthcare professionals. Produced by the NHS.
  • Medline (Pubmed)
    Use Firefox if experiencing issues with PubMed (IE8 is no longer compatible)
    OPEN ACCESS Journal articles in all fields of medicine, biomedicine, health sciences and allied health. Free from the US National Library of Medicine. PubMed Fact Sheet Medline/PubMed Resources Guide What's the Difference Between MEDLINE and PubMed?
  • MedlinePlus
    OPEN ACCESS Patient information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues from the US National Institute of Health and National Library of Medicine.
  • Medsafe
    OPEN ACCESS Information on the regulation and safe use of medicines and medical devices in New Zealand.
  • Medsafe Clinical Trials
    OPEN ACCESS
  • National Guideline Clearinghouse
    OPEN ACCESS A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. An initiative of the US Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).
  • New Zealand Guideline Group (NZGG)
    OPEN ACCESS Evidence-based publications by the NZGG from 2000-2012. The NZGG went into voluntary liquidation in 2012.
  • New Zealand Health Statistics
    OPEN ACCESS New Zealand health data and health statistics collected and produced by the Ministry of Health and wider health sector.
  • New Zealand Libraries' Catalogue
    OPEN ACCESS Search items held in all New Zealand libraries. Available to the general public.
  • NHS Choices: Health A-Z
    OPEN ACCESS Patient information for a range of common conditions and treatments. From the NHS in the UK.
  • NICE Guidance
    OPEN ACCESS National guidance and advice to improve health and social care from the UK National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE).
  • NZResearch
    OPEN ACCESS Research documents from academic and research institutions throughout New Zealand.
  • OMIM
    OPEN ACCESS Authoritative compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes that is freely available and updated daily.
  • OTCATS
    OPEN ACCESS A small selection of critically appraised topics (CATs) relating to Occupational Therapy. Topics are not peer reviewed. Supported by Occupational Therapy Australia.
  • OTseeker
    OPEN ACCESS Quality ratings of a selection of randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews relevant to occupational therapy. Developed by a team of five occupational therapists from two Australian universities.
  • Patient UK
    OPEN ACCESS For patients and health professionals. Includes health information leaflets, a wellbeing centre, a free health check, and thousands of discussion forums. Independently run by Patient information Publications and Egton Medical Information Systems Ltd.
  • PEDro
    OPEN ACCESS Randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. All trials on PEDro are independently quality rated.
  • PsycBITE
    OPEN ACCESS Studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological issues resulting from acquired brain impairment. Studies are rated for methodological quality and scientific rigour.
  • PubMed
    Use Firefox if experiencing issues with PubMed (IE8 is no longer compatible)
    OPEN ACCESS Journal articles in all fields of medicine, biomedicine, health sciences and allied health. Produced by the US National Library of Medicine.
    PubMed Fact Sheet
    Medline/PubMed Resources Guide
    What's the Difference Between MEDLINE and PubMed?  
  • PubMed Health
    OPEN ACCESS Based on systematic reviews of clinical trials. Includes summaries for consumers and full technical reports for clinicians.
  • ResearchSpace
    OPEN ACCESS University of Auckland institutional repository.
  • Research Review
    OPEN ACCESS Regular updates from worldwide medical journals; includes commentary from NZ specialists.
  • Social Care Online
    OPEN ACCESS Includes abstracts and some full text of social care literature, and is updated daily. Produced by the Social Care Institute for Excellence in the UK.
  • speechBITE
    OPEN ACCESS Speech pathology treatment evidence and intervention studies. Developed by the University of Sydney and Speech Pathology Australia.
  • Starship Clinical Guidelines
    OPEN ACCESS Guidelines written for use at Starship Children's Health, Auckland City Hospital.
  • The King's Fund (UK)
    OPEN ACCESS An independent charity shaping policy and practice through research, analysis and development.
  • TRIP
    OPEN ACCESS Quickly and easily find high-quality research evidence to support clinical practice and patient care.
  • Trove
    OPEN ACCESS Research from Australian university and government research repositories.
  • UpToDate: Patient information
    OPEN ACCESS UpToDate has produced articles for patients and their families based on the same information and editorial processes as their main UpToDate product.
  • Weight Management FAB
    OPEN ACCESS Online database of New Zealand research and evaluation on nutrition, physical activity, obesity, exercise science, physical recreation and sport, from the year 2000 onwards. Ministry of Health’s strategic approach to improving nutrition, increasing physical activity and achieving healthy weight for all New Zealanders.
  • WHO International Clinical Trials Registry
    OPEN ACCESS International trial information, including Australia and New Zealand.
  • Your Health
    OPEN ACCESS Topics on conditions and treatments, healthy living and support services from the NZ Ministry of Health.
  • AHRQ - Agency for healthcare research & quality (USA)
    OPEN ACCESS Summaries of research findings and full research reports.
  • BMJ Quality Improvement Reports
    OPEN ACCESS Searchable repository of global quality improvement evidence and best practice.
  • Evidence Search (NICE)
    OPEN ACCESS Evidence-based information on health and social care for a wide range of conditions. Includes extensive medicines and prescribing information. Produced by the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) in the UK.
  • Grey Literature Report
    OPEN ACCESS New York Academy of Medicine’s grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics.
  • Grey Matter newsletter
    OPEN ACCESS A selection of recent NGO, Think Tank, and International Government reports from the NZ Ministry of Health Library.
  • Health Improvement and Innovation Resource Centre (HIIRC)
    OPEN ACCESS Provides healthcare managers and clinical staff with resources and tools to support NZ healthcare innovation and quality improvement.
  • New Zealand Libraries' Catalogue
    OPEN ACCESS Search items held in all New Zealand libraries. Available to the general public.
  • NZResearch
    OPEN ACCESS Research documents from academic and research institutions throughout New Zealand.
  • ResearchSpace
    OPEN ACCESS University of Auckland institutional repository.
  • Research Review
    OPEN ACCESS Regular updates from worldwide medical journals; includes commentary from NZ specialists.
  • The King's Fund (UK)
    OPEN ACCESS An independent charity shaping policy and practice through research, analysis and development.
  • Trove
    OPEN ACCESS Research from Australian university and government research repositories.
  • BestHealth
    OPEN ACCESS Evidence based patient treatment options for many conditions, rated according to benefits and side effects. Produced by BMJ Publishing. Free access to New Zealand is provided by the Ministry of Health.
  • Everybody
    OPEN ACCESS Consumer information for New Zealanders written and reviewed by health professionals and owned by MIMS (NZ). Health topics have concise overviews but usually do not include references. Includes motivational tools, health stories, support groups and online forums.
  • Genetics Home Reference
    OPEN ACCESS National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes related to those conditions.
  • Health Ed
    OPEN ACCESS Public health resources from the Health Promotion Agency and NZ Ministry of Health.
  • Health Navigator
    OPEN ACCESS Trusted health and self-help information for all New Zealanders developed by health professionals and volunteers.
  • Healthpoint
    OPEN ACCESS Current information about New Zealand healthcare providers, referral expectations, services offered and common treatments.
  • Kidshealth
    OPEN ACCESS Reliable information about children's health for New Zealand parents and caregivers. A joint initiative of Starship Foundation and the Paediatric Society of New Zealand.
  • Map of Medicine Healthguides
    OPEN ACCESS Shows the ideal, evidence-based patient journey for common and important conditions. Provides a high-level overview that can be shared by patients and healthcare professionals. Produced by the NHS.
  • MedlinePlus
    OPEN ACCESS Patient information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues from the US National Institute of Health and National Library of Medicine.
  • Medsafe
    OPEN ACCESS Information on the regulation and safe use of medicines and medical devices in New Zealand.
  • NHS Choices: Health A-Z
    OPEN ACCESS Patient information for a range of common conditions and treatments. From the NHS in the UK.
  • Patient UK
    OPEN ACCESS For patients and health professionals. Includes health information leaflets, a wellbeing centre, a free health check, and thousands of discussion forums. Independently run by Patient information Publications and Egton Medical Information Systems Ltd.
  • PubMed Health
    OPEN ACCESS Based on systematic reviews of clinical trials. Includes summaries for consumers and full technical reports for clinicians.
  • UpToDate: Patient information
    OPEN ACCESS UpToDate has produced articles for patients and their families based on the same information and editorial processes as their main UpToDate product.
  • Your Health
    OPEN ACCESS Topics on conditions and treatments, healthy living and support services from the NZ Ministry of Health.
  • BMJ Learning
    A continual professional development e-learning resource aimed at doctors. Note: access is only to ADHB Associate Members from a Philson Library computer.
  • Dynamed
    NEW Evidence-based point of care decision support tool on conditions, diseases and symptoms. Covers prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis.
  • Journals@Ovid
    Access the table of contents and full text of articles in journals from Ovid. Browse journals by title or subject.
  • NICE Evidence Search
    OPEN ACCESS Evidence-based information on health and social care for a wide range of conditions. Includes extensive medicines and prescribing information. Produced by the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) in the UK.
  • OldMedline
    Covers all fields of medicine for the period 1948-1965, most of which are now in Medline.
  • CINAHL Plus
    Nursing and Allied Health journal articles and dissertations from 1937 to current.
  • Health and Medical Complete
    Indexes articles from leading health and medical journals; includes some full text.
  • Nursing Reference Center Plus
    NEW An evidence-based information resource designed for nurses. Includes information about diseases and conditions as well as evidence based care sheets, drug information, videos, images and topics covering nursing management, leadership. Download the App for iOS (iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch) and Android devices.  
  • OTCATS
    OPEN ACCESS A small selection of critically appraised topics (CATs) relating to Occupational Therapy. Topics are not peer reviewed. Supported by Occupational Therapy Australia.
  • OTseeker
    OPEN ACCESS Quality ratings of a selection of randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews relevant to occupational therapy. Developed by a team of five occupational therapists from two Australian universities.
  • PEDro
    OPEN ACCESS Randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. All trials on PEDro are independently quality rated.
  • PsycBITE
    OPEN ACCESS Studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological issues resulting from acquired brain impairment. Studies are rated for methodological quality and scientific rigour.
  • REHABDATA
    OPEN ACCESSCovers physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law and employment. Produced by the US National Rehabilitation Information Center.
  • Social Care Online
    OPEN ACCESS Includes abstracts and some full text of social care literature, and is updated daily. Produced by the Social Care Institute for Excellence in the UK.
  • speechBITE
    OPEN ACCESS Speech pathology treatment evidence and intervention studies. Developed by the University of Sydney and Speech Pathology Australia.
  • Weight Management FAB
    OPEN ACCESS Online database of New Zealand research and evaluation on nutrition, physical activity, obesity, exercise science, physical recreation and sport, from the year 2000 onwards. Ministry of Health’s strategic approach to improving nutrition, increasing physical activity and achieving healthy weight for all New Zealanders.
  • Evidence Search (NICE)
    OPEN ACCESS Evidence-based information on health and social care for a wide range of conditions. Includes extensive medicines and prescribing information. Produced by the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) in the UK.
  • Medsafe
    OPEN ACCESS Information on the regulation and safe use of medicines and medical devices in New Zealand.
  • New Zealand Formulary
    Clinically validated medicines information and guidance on best practice for healthcare professionals.
  • Pharmacy
    [ADHB Intranet access only]The ADHB Pharmacy intranet site. Includes information on medicines, medication safety and administration guidelines.
  • LegislationNZ
    OPEN ACCESS A browsable collection of New Zealand Acts.
  • Primary Mental Health
    Resources about NZ primary mental health and addiction for the workforce, academics and consumers.
  • PsycBITE
    OPEN ACCESS Studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological issues resulting from acquired brain impairment. Studies are rated for methodological quality and scientific rigour.
  • PsychiatryOnline
    Journals, textbooks, handbooks and the DSM Library from the American Psychiatric Association.
  • PsycINFO
    Journal articles, book chapters and book reviews in psychology and the behavioural sciences as well as relevant coverage from medicine, education, anthropology and sociology. Produced by the American Psychological Association.